DYI- Crisp Geometric Design with Glazes

057This is a short how-to on getting this geometric design when glazing your pots. I purchased a one inch vinyl tape which can be found at most craft stores. I cut the tape to my desired width and taped off my design. If you desire a cleaner line you can buy pinstripe tape from your local auto store. I chose to cut my own tape because it was cheaper and gave a more rustic feeling to my design. After the design was completely taped off I sprayed a thick layer of black matte glaze on the whole surface. after the glaze completely dried, I very carefully removed the vinyl tape as to not let the glaze crack around the design. After the tape was removed I sprayed the whole po again with a thin layer of pinnel’s clear glaze. The interaction of the clear and black glaze turned the geometric design a light grey.Happy glazing!

Leave a comment